“Shut Up, Crime!” Super: Putting The “Super” Back In Heroes

Last week I was walking through Target and I saw that the movie, Super had come out on DVD. It was only $10, so I picked it up, having heard that it was a pretty decent comedy that was the low-budget indie version of Kick-Ass. It even had a similar aesthetic appeal. The other selling point was the fact that Rainn Wilson was in it. As a fan of The Office, I had to check it out.

What I got out of that purchase was one of the most enjoyable movie-watching experiences I’ve had in a long time. Super wasn’t just a low-budget comedy spoof of the superhero genre, it was a film with heart and soul. The humor and action were there (hilariously paired for a lot of laugh-out-loud moments), but they were just the shell housing this incredibly rich story. Super is about a man who knows that it’s not what we do for ourselves, but what we do for others that make our lives meaningful.

The acting in this movie was probably what took some of the more ridiculous scenes of this movie and turned them into future cult-classics. Rainn Wilson really surprised me in this movie. I know that he can be funny, but I didn’t know that he had such a diverse range. I had seen glimpses of this from Rainn as Dwight on The Office, but Frank D’Arbo really showed me the skill that Rainn Wilson has as an actor, not just a comedian. I haven’t been a Kevin Bacon fan until recent years, but lately he’s kind of grown on me. In Super, he’s a great antagonist with a lot of great lines.

I haven’t seen an Ellen Page movie since Inception, but I have to admit, she was hilarious in this film. It was a crazy brand of energetic comedy that I didn’t expect from her. Even Liv Tyler won me over with her soft-spoken performance and emotionally charged scenes.

When you get away from Hollywood and get a chance to be creative and not try to appeal to the masses, you’re able to create a real work of art. Super is one of these low-budget films that won’t appeal to the masses, but it contains a great script, memorable characters, and genuine heart. It’s qualities like these that the blockbuster movies that Hollywood has their hands in should try to possess.

I loved this film too much to give any spoilers away that will ruin anyone’s experience watching this film, but I will say this: The third act of the film is epic and it makes the transition of being labeled as a “comedy” or “indie” movie and instead becomes simply a great film. This is the first film I’ve ever seen by director James Gunn, but I’ll be keeping my eye on his future projects. Tyler Bates does the score for the film and the intense music in the climax of the movie give the film a real dramatic appeal, blending the comedy, action, and drama together in a unique way.

I give Super, starring Rainn Wilson, Ellen Page, Kevin Bacon, and Liv Tyler a 5 out of 5.

It was by far the best $10 I’ve spent in a long time. Definitely check it out.

One thought on ““Shut Up, Crime!” Super: Putting The “Super” Back In Heroes

Leave a Reply

