“The Amazing Spider-Man”: Summer Preview

With Marvel’s The Avengers being released this Friday, I think it’s time to look at some other superhero movies that are coming out this summer.

For example, a certain spider seems to be getting back into the swing of things with the return of:

The Amazing Spider-Man!

Realistic Spin on Spidey

Why am I excited for this movie? It’s simple. Andrew Garfield and Marc Webb. Oh, and the fact that it’s Spider-Man.

What I Like:

-RebootThis film does take Peter Parker back to high school, and is separate from the Tobey Maguire, Sam Raimi films of the better part of my teenage years. Is this a good thing? Hell yes. Especially when you have Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone as Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy.

Couple
Look at me when I’m staring at you.

These two young actors have really made a name for themselves and have impressed me in every film of theirs that I’ve seen. (I recommend Boy A, for Garfield, and Easy A, for Miss Stone).

Grounding the SpiderThe Amazing Spider-Man looks like it’s going to take place in a world with a bit more logic and reality to it than the very stylish, albeit corny-at-times Raimi films. Peter has built his web-shooters.

Look Ma, made ’em myself.

He’s being hunted by the police, with Gwen Stacy’s father at the head of the task force. He is facing real identity issues, dealign with being a loser, and trying to find out his place in the world. And the villain isn’t Topher Grace.

-Shit-Talking: Andrew Garfield definitely fit the bill for the physical aspect of Peter Parker. He’s skinny, tall, awkward. But from what I’ve seen in the trailers, it looks like this Peter Parker is going to do something that Tobey Maguire didn’t do much of in his tights: talk some shit. Spidey is a character who uses his quick-talking and witty banter to insult villains and confuse them while he tries to figure out how to take them out. The old films didn’t really show this aspect of Spider-Man, but this reincarnation seems to have no problem being a smart ass and irritating the hell out of everyone.

Marc Webb: If there’s one movie that I recommend to anyone who loves movies, it’s 500 Days of Summer. I loved the “old” Spider-Man movies, so I was skeptical when i heard they were rebooting the series. But when I heard Marc Webb was at the helm, I knew that this movie had the potential to be amazing. Webb can bring a level of humanity and emotion to this film that i believe all movies should have, whether they are superhero blockbusters or not. The dynamics between the characters are what I care most about and I think that by the end of the film, Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone are going to make us care about these two people and what happens to them.

What Worries Me:

-The Costume: I wasn’t a fan when I first saw the new costume design for this film, and it still hasn’t won me over. The mask and body of the suit look great, but in some of the trailers it looks like his eyes are almost gold-colored. I’m also not sure about the sneakers with suction cups underneath them or the gloves, but hey, I’ll try to keep an open mind when the film comes out.

Peter’s Untold Story: Spider-Man is an icon known throughout the world. Everyone knows Peter Parker’s history and how he learned that “With great power, comes great responsibility.” What worries me from the trailers of The Amazing Spider-Man is that it looks like this film will spin a new web of history for Peter. I’m not sure how long Uncle Ben will be around, and I’m not sure how they are planning to weave Peter’s father into the storyline in a way that won’t feel forced. The worst thing you can do is change the formula to something good, simply because you’re trying to tell the old story in a new way.

-The Lizard: From the trailers so far, I haven’t been impressed The Lizard. Rhys Ifans is a tremendous actor who doesn’t get as much credit as he deserves. He doesn’t worry me, but his CGI counterpart does. I’m not sure if seeing a creature as large as The Hulk fighting a scrawny Spider-Man will be as believable or realistic as the rest of the movie seems to be going for. That said, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that The Lizard visually looks as good as Rhys Ifans performance as Curt Connors will be.

Don’t ever flush your pet iguana down the toilet. Ever.

Overall, I’m excited for The Amazing Spider-Man because it’s a movie where I don’t know how it will end. The Avengers is coming out in less than seven days, but I know full-well what I’m going to get with that movie. With this reboot of Spider-Man, the new cast has a chance of telling a story that can surprise, entertain, and inspire people.

Peter Parker is a hero that we can identify with, not because of his abilities, but because of his real-life problems. I expect this is going to be one of the finest movies of the summer, and one of the best superhero films to date. If there’s one film that’s finally going to perfectly capture both Peter Parker and Spider-Man, it’s going to be this.

The Amazing Spider-Man will have Spidey swinging back into theaters on July 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

