Halo 4 or, There and Back Again

Here we go again

If you’re a gamer, then I’m sure you’re excited for Halo 4, which will be ready for purchase midnight tonight at many retailers.

I hopped on board the Halo train late in life. I played through the first one, was a huge fan of Halo 2, and then lost interest halfway through Halo 3. I think my problem at that point was that Modern Warfare came out and changed my experience with first-person shooters. No game will ever replace 007 Goldeneye for the N64, but the CoD games of recent years are up there.

Halo’s main storyline was always interesting to play through–and I’m curious to see where Halo 4 takes the series–but what draws me to shooters these days is the online multiplayer. With Halo 3, I got tired of combat essentially coming down to weakening someone’s armor and then running up and bashing them before their shield recharged. It was the only way to kill other players and that killed Halo 3 for me fast. I like to be able to shoot players from afar, not relying completely on melee. I mean, it is a first-person shooter after all.

That said, Halo 4 has gotten great reviews so far and even though this is the first game not developed by Bungie, the new developers, 343 Industries are being hailed for creating a Halo that surpasses the original. IGN had an early review for the game and they lured me in with their 9.8/10 Rating.

While I’m not sure whether or not I will be picking up Halo 4 soon or just putting it on a Christmas List–or as soon as it price-drops–I will say that the game does look impressive. I’m curious to see what gamers out there think of it when they pick it up either tonight or tomorrow. Who knows, maybe Halo 4 will bring me back into the franchise. At least until Black Ops 2 comes out November 13th.

Leave a Reply

